Sports BlogTalk

Falcons Waive 11 Players

The Atlanta Falcons waived eleven players Sunday in the wake of their 27-23 exhibition loss to the Baltimore Ravens.   Eight of the players were signed as 2013 college free agents by the Falcons this past April 29th.

The complete list includes:  TE Tim Biere, FB Devonte Campbell, LB Nick Clancy, TE Colin Cloherty, QB Seth Doege, DE Cam Henderson, T Jeff Nady, RB Donald Russell, S Troy Sanders, C Matt Smith, and DE Brandon Thurmond.

Only one player the Falcons waived, TE Colin Cloherty, has NFL experience.  Cloherty has played in eight games with one start in his NFL career.

Atlanta must reduce to 75 players by Tuesday at 4 p.m. ET as per the NFL’s mandatory cut-down.  The Falcons need to trim their roster to 53 by August 31 plus an eight-man practice squad.

The Falcons will wrap up their exhibition season this Thursday against the Jacksonville Jaguars at home, as they look to break into the win column.  Atlanta currently has an 0-3 preseason record.