Sports BlogTalk

Jason Dufner Ties Major Record 63

Jason Dufner tied the all-time scoring record in major championships with his 63 on Friday.  He had a chance to break the record with a 12-foot putt on the eighteenth hole, but he left his birdie putt three feet short.  Dufner is nine under par at the halfway point of the PGA Championship and is the sole leader.

Webb Simpson set a course record, 64, earlier in the day, at the Oak Hill course in Rochester, New York .  But it didn’t last for long, as Dufner’s 63 is the new standard.

Jason Dufner’s 63 on Friday at Oak Hill was the 26th 63 shot in a major championship and the 12th at the PGA Championship, the most of any major.  No surprise there, as PGAs are set up more wide open.

Here’s the list of players who have shot 63 in a major championship according to

PGA Championship (12 times)
Bruce Crampton, 1975 (Firestone), second round (7 under)
Raymond Floyd, 1982 (Southern Hills), first round (7 under)
Gary Player, 1984 (Shoal Creek), second round (9 under)
Vijay Singh, 1993 (Inverness), second round (8 under)
Michael Bradley, 1995 (Riviera), first round (8 under)
Brad Faxon, 1995 (Riviera), final round (8 under)
Jose Maria Olazabal, 2000 (Valhalla), third round (9 under)
Mark O’Meara, 2001 (Atlanta AC), second round (7 under)
Thomas Bjorn, 2005 (Baltusrol), third round (7 under)
Tiger Woods, 2007 (Southern Hills), second round (7 under)
Steve Stricker, 2011 (Atlanta Athletic), first round (7 under)
Jason Dufner, 2013 (Oak Hill), second round (7 under)

Masters (2)
Nick Price, 1986, third round (9 under)
Greg Norman, 1996, first round (9 under)

U.S. Open (4)
Johnny Miller, 1973 (Oakmont), final round (8 under)
Jack Nicklaus, 1980 (Baltusrol), first round (7 under)
Tom Weiskopf, 1980 (Baltusrol), first round (7 under)
Vijay Singh, 2003 (Olympia Fields), second round (7 under)

The Open Championship (8)
Mark Hayes, 1977 (Turnberry), second round (7 under)
Isao Aoki, 1980 (Muirfield), third round (8 under)
Greg Norman, 1986 (Turnberry), second round (7 under)
Paul Broadhurst, 1990 (St. Andrews), third round (9 under)
Jodie Mudd, 1991 (Birkdale), final round (7 under)
Nick Faldo, 1993 (St. George’s), final round (7 under)
Payne Stewart, 1993 (St. George’s), final round (7 under)
Rory McIlroy, 2010 (St. Andrews), first round (9 under)